T & C & Q

Today I led the second week of a group discussion called “Tea, Coffee, and Questions”.

questions.jpeg

We had two newcomers and this time I actually figured out how to make coffee… (I looked up a youtube video, clearly I am much more the ‘T’ than the ‘C’).

We had Morning Prayer following the Anglican Daily Office Lectionary, today’s readings were Isaiah 49: 13-23, and Galatians 3: 1-14. This component of the group is optional but I have yet to have an attendee that doesn’t come to both. I gave a short reflection on sacrificial love and after concluding the service I invited people into the side room for discussion.

Today’s discussion questions were:

beginning with a leftover question from last week: If you were any animal, what would you be and why? A fun one to start the group off, many commonalities in the answer was a desire for freedom, often manifesting in being a winged creature. We also though had a service dog because the person in question believes service to be the way she shows love and her need to be constantly doing something. I thought that was a wonderfully insightful answer.

The first big question was: what is the difference between hope and optimism? There were varied answers including aspects of hope being more concrete or focused, and along the lines of wishful thinking- whereas optimism was found to be more about something being good, or finding positivism in something whether you want it to be there or not. I personally found a note of difference in the tenses- hope is about the future whether close or far- off whereas optimism is reactionary, its about a present or past situation.

Next was a bit of church trivia: Why are Sundays “in” Lent and not “of” Lent? This question I learned about last year but I encouraged members of the group to try and guess at the answer before I revealed it. For those of you who don’t know Lent is a period of fasting in the Church calendar preceding Holy week and Easter. The reason Sundays are “in” and not “of” is because the Sundays are a Holy day where we are to break the fast, they don’t count as part of the 40 days of Lent.

Then we talked about what infinity is… we determined that for sure it has no end, but couldn’t quite come to a conclusion about whether or not it had a beginning. In the spiritual sense, infinity is akin to God, and so has no beginning or end- but what about other things? What about the soul? Does the soul have a beginning, it certainly has a beginning within the body, but does it have a beginning or is there something that comes before we were a twinkle in God’s eye?

Another fun question: if life was a cake, what flavour would it be? Would it have icing? Would it be layered? etc Well we certainly got some interesting answers. I think all the cakes were layered for sure, some were checkered, some had a mix of colors/ flavors. One was a cheesecake! There was even a fruitcake in the mix. Very few had icing… I wonder what the significance of that is?

We ended by discussing what our favourite bible verses are, we had Micah 6:8 (one I love as well) which is: He has told you, O mortal, what is good; and what does the Lord require of you but to do justice, and to love kindness, and to walk humbly with your God?

We also had the Ten Commandments, specifically Exodus 20:12; Honor your father and your mother, so that your days may be long in the land that the Lord your God is giving you.

There was Psalm 23 for its comforting words, and personally I can’t pick a verse- there are so many that have helped me in various stages of my life but I love the book of Psalms overall, because they contain every raw human emotion imaginable. In particular, while not applicable at this point in my life, I love Psalm 88. It is perfect for when a person is in a dark time of their life, sometimes other lamenting psalms don’t feel genuine because they always end in some thanksgiving or praise. Psalm 88 doesn’t do that, it is dark the whole way through. I feel like I appreciate this Psalm above others because when I am in the midst of the darkness, I don’t always believe there IS a light, let alone want to thank or praise it.

Overall it was a wonderful discussion, and I look forward to the coming weeks.

Leave a Reply

