There is but one…

There are a lot of quotes that start with the title of this post. “There is but one…”

“There is but one truly serious philosophical problem, and that is suicide…” Albert Camus

“There is but one God, the Father, of whom are all things, and we in him…” 1 Corinthians 8:6

“There is but one rule: hunt or be hunted” Frank Underwood

“There is but one Paris…” Vincent Van Gogh

“No cause is lost if there is but one fool left to fight for it” Unknown

“There is but one secret to success: never give up” Ben Nighthorse Campbell

“There is but one crime: to be untrue to ourselves”Francis Parker Yockey

“There is but one straight course, and that is to seek truth and pursue it steadily” George Washington

I could go on forever… but rather today I am applying it to a place where you may have heard it before (or maybe not…). There is but one body of Christ.

Something has been on my mind of late and it is how the world seems to be constantly splitting into binaries. I hate binaries… I really do, it only ever seems to get people into trouble. Our culture is obsessed with figuring out who and what is right and wrong, and don’t get me wrong, it is a noble pursuit in a sense. In other ways however it isn’t, to know right from wrong is ethics, but to pursue universal binaries and demonize the “other” in the process… well there is ironically something very wrong with that.

Someone I know was recently telling a story about an encounter he had with some people who asked him “What type of Christian are you?” To most Christians this question is a bit puzzling at first; they then clarified “y’know, do you hate gay people or not?” (I am paraphrasing). If this was me I could say “oh no… I love them, they are just as much a part of this community as I am” or “I have no problem with gay people” or something else along those lines. Instead, to all the people asking that question “What type of Christian are you?” I’m going to say… “there’s no types”.

Christianity should not be split into two opposing groups, there are many “issues” one can take a stance on but there aren’t two “types” of Christian. I support LGBT people and their marriages, lives, rights, etc… but I don’t condemn those who don’t to being non-Christian or other-Christian. There is no hyphen, they are just Christian.

Don’t believe me? Check out Romans 12:5

“So in Christ, we who are many form one body, and each member belongs to all the others”

or how about 1 Corinthians 12:12

“The human body has many parts, but the many parts make up one whole body. So it is with the body of Christ”

One Faith

One Baptism

One God and Father of ALL

Yours in Christ

Leave a Reply

