What ruins Christmas…

Call it a rant… call it a refreshing perspective… call it whatever you want. I’m talking now.

I got my first virtual “Christmas Card” today, or at least that’s what the subject line of the email said. The problem being is that it wasn’t a greeting, it was a complaint. It wasn’t merry, it was annoying, exclusive, and negative. It was sent by my grandfather, or at least forwarded by him. It got me thinking though, how I see these emails, memes, articles, etc- they crowd my social media feeds so that any ounce of joy that was left in the world at this season is suffocated.

christmasdead

Which is why I’m writing this: what ruins Christmas, at least for me, is not the people who say “happy holidays” instead of “merry christmas”. It’s not the people/ companies who try to be inclusive of those who don’t celebrate Christmas. It’s not the menorahs- be they for Hanukkah, or Kwanzaa. It’s not any of these things.

7-8-12

What ruins Christmas for me? It’s the people who don’t seem able to move past the diversity in order to celebrate their own season of joy and hope. The people that abound with negativity, instead of looking to Christmas with expectation… I mean, I’ve always been told that’s the point of Advent… expectation and hope. This is also an aside but guess what “holidays” means… “holy days” – as in reference to Kwanzaa, Hanukkah, Advent, Epiphany, Christmas, etc.

holydays

And I’m sorry if this seems hypocritical because I’m complaining about the complainers- but I’m sick of it. Stop bickering about other people expressing their own seasons of joy, and just enjoy the joy. Oh and if you think you’re being clever by writing these emails in a way that makes people subconsciously read them to the rhythm of an old Christmas story or carol… that’s not clever, its exploitation of nostalgia… and its not working. I find your complaints and negativity just as annoying and pissy when they are set to a tune as when they are in a cartoon, or a meme, or any other format.

If I could have just one Christmas wish… just one… it would be for people to embrace love, instead of spreading hate.

happy

I highly doubt I will get my wish, but if I do– this virtual Christmas card will be the first and last of its kind.

Thank you for your consideration… rant over.

Leave a Reply

